Greenwich: (203) 930-1515 Ridgefield: (203) 431-8720

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC

Client Reviews

He's a Pro

by as posted to

I am deeply grateful for Eric's service, hard work, legal knowledge, litigation skills, preparedness and passionate advocacy on my behalf. His forthright consultation and advice went beyond the scope of law and into the greater realm of facilitating effective human relationships and individual responsibility. He kept me from making my situation worse by acting out from a place of fear and hurt. The combination of these things and his assistance getting my prepared allowed me to walk into court confident that we were prepared and to walk from the trial knowing that we made our case to best of our ability. Eric was obsessive in his preparation, tireless in his effort, outstanding in his communication skills, creative in his advocacy and all this peaked in the court room, where he was a maestro. While he is a vociferous advocate of avoiding trial to resolve divorce based on his [more than 15 years] of practice and belief that going to trial will undermine any future relationship between the divorcing parties who may have to continue raising children, as my wife and I will, Eric shines on his feet in a court room. I went through two attorneys before hiring Eric and regret that I did not hire Eric from day one. He was worth every penny I paid him.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: June 25, 2013
5 / 5 stars

A++ Attorney, Expertise, Counsel, Wisdom & Empathy

by as posted to

I would definitely recommend Eric to anyone who has to go through the Divorce process or has a post-judgment matter. I have used Eric for both, and was extremely satisfied with my representation and the counsel I received. He has a truly unique perspective and approach as a divorce attorney. Unlike most divorce lawyers who seem to (in a self-serving and destructive way) enjoy pouring gas on the flames and engage in pointless conflict, arguments and litigation with the other party (and rack up unnecessary fees), Eric understands the true emotional, financial and experiential 'cost' of divorce, and his primary interest is to find the best path to resolution and closure so you can move on and rebuild your life constructively. That said, if necessary, he'll advocate firmly and effectively to protect your interests, position and well-being. He is an excellent problem solver who comes up with creative and constructive solutions to complex problems. He has a bias toward non-adversarial conflict resolution, and will do everything in his power to get you a peaceful, cooperative and speedy resolution...yet will always stand up for your position and rights as necessary. Perhaps the greatest compliment I ever heard about Eric was when the judge in my matter voluntarily praised me for my choice of counsel and said I "could not have found better representation." There are a lot of sharks in the divorce waters -- Eric is NOT one of them -- he's a 'life saver' boat.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: March 22, 2016
5 / 5 stars

Professional, Knowledgeable and Caring

by as posted to

I can't thank attorney Eric Posmantier enough for his help during a very difficult time in my life. Eric's knowledge and experience of the law eased my stress and anxiety. His personal and approachable demeanor made me feel comfortable and not so overwhelmed. He took a genuine interest in the well being of my three daughters and his attention to details has secured us in the future. Throughout the entire process I was always well informed, my phone calls promptly returned and all my questions and concerns were addressed. Eric was patient and understanding to my difficult and often frustrating situation. He was able to remain calm and focused during times that most would not. Thank you Eric for your outstanding job in representing me in my divorce. It was truly a pleasure working with you!

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: October 10, 2014
5 / 5 stars

5.0/5.0

by as posted to

I cannot imagine finding a better lawyer. From the first consultation with Eric, I knew he was one of those rare people you meet with a blend of high integrity, a desire to help people, and a need to do the best job possible with the least expense to me. His excellent interpersonal skills and profound understanding of the psychology of people make him an exceptional family attorney.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: March 22, 2016
5 / 5 stars

5.0 out of 5.0

by as posted to

Avoided a costly and disrupting trial on a modification. Clarified and settled several other issues that never would have been dealt with at trial. Demonstrated skill at sorting out complex issues and effectively negotiating them with client and the competition. Provided excellent value for the price.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: August 11, 2014
5 / 5 stars

5.0 out of 5.0

by as posted to

Eric is an excellent attorney. I describe him as an invaluable life saver amongst a sea of sharks. He has a bias to resolve matters in a non-adversarial manner, but will represent his clients with strength, professionalism and attention to detail as necessary. I appreciated his counsel, candor and assurance in my divorce process. I was much better off for having had him in my corner. I would highly recommend him to anyone who needs wise counsel through the divorce process.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: March 16, 2017
5 / 5 stars

5.0 out of 5.0

by as posted to

Eric was a great ally to have in my corner through the toughest time in my life. He is highly knowledgeable, highly experienced, compassionate, and tough. His office staff is top notch as well. They return calls immediately and prepare documents in the same fashion. I couldn't have made a better choice of attorney. I do not hesitate to recommend him.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: March 14, 2017
5 / 5 stars

Highly Qualified, Extremely Competent, Very Empathetic...

by as posted to

Eric was recommended to me by a friend when I realized how poorly my previous attorney had advised me in my collaborative divorce. [Attorney Posmantier] advised me in a few post-divorce actions initiated by my ex, and was able to help me achieve very good results. Eric was always informed about the status of my case, was always extremely responsive to my questions...

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: January 18, 2013
5 / 5 stars

Eric Posmantier Review

by as posted to

After three other divorce lawyers, I was finally guided to Eric. I am an attorney and hire the world's best lawyers for nearly 30 years. Eric is fantastic. He has the big picture. He nails the details. He's a number guy. He is extremely effective without being nasty. Eric is understanding and empathetic to those of us who [must go] through this ordeal. Eric is extremely intelligent and ALWAYS has YOUR best interests in his huge mind and big heart - not his own! He is a master of strategy - what to get and what to give. Hire Eric before your "ex" does, although even if he were on the other side you would be pleased with his honesty, reasonableness and ability to settle or win.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: May 16, 2011
5 / 5 stars

Excellent Family Attorney

by as posted to

I had interviewed with this attorney and later learned that he took me on as a client because he felt badly about how I was treated by another divorce attorney whom I had spent a lot of money, with very little result. He wanted me to benefit from having a good relationship with an attorney, and we did. He was this type of gentleman throughout our more than 9 years of legal involvement. I had a very contentious divorce with a toddler and a newborn and am grateful, even in hindsight that Eric watched over the best interests of our family. Of importance to me was that he returned phone calls in a timely fashion as this point modulated my anxiety level. It was also important to me that I have an attorney that was a good negotiator but who had an equal ability to be a tough strategist. He was equally strong in these areas and I saved money as a result of avoiding court time. Most memorable was when we were in Superior Court, which hears the more difficult cases, where the judges are more seasoned to deal with issues of children and money; the judge who was hearing our case requested to speak to the senior partner of the firm at the end of a court session, and made a point of mentioning the noteworthy caliber of this attorney. He is not just smart, he is sharp. An attorney who weighs out the risk, benefit and liability of each action and presents it to you for your decision. I weigh the statistical risk before committing to a plan and found that Eric was able to provide stats or additional knowledge that I could work with. He also made me feel comfortable by translating legal language to that which I could understand. Divorce is terrible, but your attorney can make a difference in your overall experience and outcome. My outcome far exceeded my expectations.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: March 17, 2010
5 / 5 stars

A Brilliant, Strategic, Compassionate, Effective Attorney

by as posted to

I strongly recommend Eric Posmantier as a Family Law attorney (although I would and will hire him for any area in which he practices as needed) with the utmost integrity, intelligence, knowledge of the law, sharp instincts, ability to understand the complexities of a case and stay focused on what is most important. I put my trust and faith in him and he delivered on every level. He is strong and strategic and his balanced disposition keeps tensions from escalating and the process moving forward. His understanding and compassion went beyond the call of duty and I am forever grateful to him. Because of him, I received the best possible settlement in the shortest amount of time. Quite simply, I recommend hiring him without hesitation.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: November 12, 2013
5 / 5 stars

Unique Attorney

by as posted to

Throughout my divorce, I have had the opportunity to meet and work with more then one lawyer, and never have I seen anyone more knowledgeable, effective, caring and genuine than Eric Posmantier. His knowledge is simply astonishing, and is only matched by his incredible honesty. Not only did I find in Eric a remarkably efficient lawyer, but also a human being who truly cared about my situation beyond the courtroom and judicial details. I've never felt more at ease during my divorce case and its surrounding matters. Eric Posmantier is someone who is extremely reliable, scrutinizingly thorough, possess an encyclopedic knowledge and understanding of the law and uses it to your best. I recommend Eric with unbridled enthusiasm.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: March 23, 2011
5 / 5 stars

The Best Lawyer in Fairfield County

by as posted to

I am a lawyer, and I cannot recommend Eric Posmantier enough. He kept me informed, supported me and always tried to help me save money. He was an amazing advocate, who held my hand behind the scenes. The only reason I made it through the divorce with my head held high was because of Eric and his superior team!

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: December 4, 2014
5 / 5 stars

Trust and Appreciation

by as posted to

Eric combined his legal expertise with compassion and integrity. We had tried two mediators and were unsuccessful, yet with Eric's clarity, we were able to come to an agreement as to how best to dissolve a 24 year marriage. I am deeply grateful for the skill, warmth and commitment that Eric brought to a most painful transition.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: November 7, 2012
5 / 5 stars

The Best Decision I Made

by as posted to

Eric Posmantier was recommended to me by a Dr. of Psychology in Child Trauma who I had found to treat my children in a very ugly post divorce situation. Her referral was simply this: "You need absolutely the best attorney in the business and Eric is it." It was a simple endorsement, but could not be more true. I will tell you that while he is a consummate professional . . . and an excellent strategist, that is not why I am recommending him. I will tell you that in the end what mattered the most to me was that he cared. He cared about me, my children and our situation. He advised me extensively on the law and strategy, but just as much personally. In the end, he guided me to the right solution for my family. I knew from my first meeting with Eric, that he was the right attorney for me and my situation. I would encourage you to meet Eric in person, I believe you will see what I saw in him as well; an outstanding attorney that sincerely cares about his client.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: November 9, 2012
5 / 5 stars

Compassionate Yet Aggressive

by as posted to

The choice to leave my marriage of almost 17 years and do life differently was not easy……divorce is NEVER easy. But from the very first meeting with Eric I knew I was going to be guided by a professional and highly competent attorney. Eric was always rational, always compassionate, and always had MY back in negotiating with a very difficult soon-to-be ex-husband. Eric’s main focus was always that of the best interest of my children and that I was taken care of in a fair way. When I would want to throw in the towel, Eric was there to talk me off the ledge. The office is professional, elegant and convenient. His staff was friendly and highly skilled in managing my case. But for the guidance of Eric through my divorce process, the whirlwind and aftermath of divorce would have really knocked me down. I had a mentally unstable and angry husband, a special needs child, my own health issues AND I wanted to move out of state so I could be near my family for support to get my life back on track. We were able to accomplish all of my goals in negotiating what I felt was a fair settlement.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: October 3, 2015
5 / 5 stars

Superior Attorney

by as posted to

I was completely satisfied and grateful for the way in which Eric handled my divorce proceeding. I had the facts on my side, but was in a very difficult situation, and Eric and his staff handled the discovery and mediation with great skill, missing nothing and securing every advantage for me in what turned out to be a very favorable decision by the court. He was constantly in touch and available, making sure I had whatever guidance I needed during a very difficult time. I couldn't recommend his services more highly.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: October 7, 2015
5 / 5 stars

Genuine

by as posted to

Eric was referred to me at one of the lowest parts of my life. I couldn't agree more with all of the reviews on [AVVO.com] that speak to Eric's strategic ability, his knowledge, integrity, business prowess, etc. In my case, it was just as important to be surrounded by Eric's positive attitude, his ability to be tough with me when I wasn't thinking rationally, to give me a push when it would have been easier to give up, to keep me focused on the important pieces of a very complicated case all [while] being sensitive to what an awful ordeal divorce can be. Eric put me at ease and was always willing to listen to my thoughts and theories.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: November 12, 2012
5 / 5 stars

Divorce Attorney You Can Absolutely Trust

by as posted to

Attorney Posmantier handled my case not only with the utmost professionalism, but also in a way that shows that his main concern is doing right by his clients. He explained my options clearly and calmly and acted both as my advocate and my advisor. During difficult moments in the process it became clear to me that he cares not for just the case, but for the person. He kept me fully informed at all times, and explained to me the rationale for both his tactical and strategic advice. He nevertheless made it clear that the decisions were, ultimately mine to make. He is very knowledgeable about both legal theory and case divorce law in Connecticut, but he was very forthright in suggesting when we should seek advice on esoteric tax matters from other experts. He was always very responsive and timely in answering my questions and concerns. Most importantly, he kept his focus on bringing the ordeal to an end, even when it would have been in his financial interest to let it drag on.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: April 30, 2014
5 / 5 stars

Outstanding Attorney with Smarts, Sensitivity, and Compassion

by as posted to

We could not have made a better selection in choosing Mr. Posmantier as our mediator. His ability to keep us focused on the important issues helped us from getting bogged down during the painful process of dissolving our marriage. He was fair, honest, compassionate, kind, and no non-sense when it was necessary. He ALWAYS kept our children and their best interest his primary focus, and was able to guide us in doing the same. He also maintained professionalism at all times, but still expressed empathy and encouraged us to see the big picture and each others perspective, so that we could work through issues without unnecessary conflict. I would highly recommend him. He was truly outstanding!

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: June 14, 2016
5 / 5 stars

Outstanding Divorce Family Lawyer

by as posted to

Eric was recommended to me by a friend and he was fabulous from the moment we started the process, until the very end Eric was very good at driving the whole thing and he was always a pleasure to work with, had the answers and really kept the kids' best interests at heart. Furthermore, he counsels ahead of time and really cares about not running the clock...a complaint that I have heard from friends about other lawyers on many occasions. Eric is a gentleman who leaves no stone unturned. The result we got in the end was very good and I have recommended him to many others.

The Law Offices of Eric R. Posmantier, LLC Date Reviewed: March 7, 2010
5 / 5 stars